Best. Gift. Ever.

March 25, 2009 at 6:30 pm | Posted in Bookshelf, Christmas, Cookbooks, Favorite Things | 3 Comments
Tags:

For a foodie like myself, particularly someone who bakes often and gets tired of leaning over the counter to check the cookbook, I present to you – the best. gift. ever.

For Christmas this year, my mom presents me with a giant “paper” box. You know, the kind that schools and large businesses buy full of paper. Although I go through a little paper, it’s less than two reams a year, so (to be honest) I’m thinking that there is no chance I’m ever going to use all the paper. And then I picked it up – whoa! – not heavy at all!

I opened the box, and voila! Here’s what’s inside:

This is what it looks like empty

This is what it looks like empty

That’s right – it’s a custom-made oak cookbook holder. Awesome! Beyond words! Now admittedly, my mom has one also, and the same gentleman made hers (and all her custom kitchen cabinets). From the picture, you can see that he filled in the screw holes from attaching the stand to the base. On hers, the screw holes aren’t filled in and I really like that look, too.

Here it is with a cookbook on it:

Honestly the best gift ever!

Honestly the best gift ever!

In the photo, you can see that it’s sized to perfectly hold the only cookbook I harp on regularly – the Betty Crocker Bridal Edition. It holds it perfectly and looks great doing it.

All that being said, if you don’t already own a cookbook stand, this one is exactly everything I could have hoped for … I highly recommend it.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I have been drooling over cookbook stands for a while now. The only problem for us is with our lack of counter space I’m not even sure where I would put it out, but I LOVE IT! 🙂 It’s on my list of “things I eventually want.” So neat!

  2. What an awesome gift! I’m so adding this to my birthday wish list 🙂

  3. Yeah, I like it a lot … let me know, I can get you the contact information for the guy who made it, I’m sure he’d be happy to make another one. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

