Hot Fudge Sundae Cake

March 18, 2009 at 1:42 pm | Posted in Cake, Chocolate, Desserts, Favorites | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , , ,

Okay, I admit … I don’t have a photo of this recipe. Because, to be honest … there’s really no way to make it look good, as far as I can tell. It was a dark brown blob in a white bowl. But, to quote Rob “On a scale of 1 to 10, I give it a 23.”

The neat thing about this recipe is that you make it right in the baking dish. There were very few dishes in the sink at the end of mixing this up, a fact I appreciated very much. Also, as it bakes, it separates into two “layers” – the bottom being the sauce, and the top being the cake. It’s really cool – and made me wish there was a window in the door of my oven.

This recipe came, again, out of my trusty Betty Crocker Bridal Edition Cookbook. So far, I haven’t tried a single recipe out of this book that was a failure. So far. I’m guessing they made these recipes as idiot-proof as possible. But all that being said, here’s the recipe:

INGREDIENTS:

1 cup all-purpose flour
3/4 cup granulated sugar
2 tablespoons baking cocoa
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup milk
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup chopped nuts, if desired (I left them out because I didn’t have any)
1 cup packed brown sugar
1/4 cup baking cocoa
1 3/4 cups very hot water

DIRECTIONS:

1. Heat oven to 350F.
2. In ungreased 9-inch square pan, mix flour, granulated sugar, 2 tablespoons cocoa, the baking powder, and salt. Mix in milk, oil, and vanilla with a fork until smooth. Stir in nuts (if desired). Spread flat in pan.
3. Sprinkle brown sugar and 1/4 cup cocoa over batter. Pour water evenly over batter.
4. Bake about 40 minutes or until top is dry-looking. Remove from oven (yes, it should jiggle like that). Allow to cool 10 minutes.
5. Spoon warm cake into dessert dishes. Top with ice cream if desired. Spoon sauce from pan onto each serving.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I can’t eat this anymore, but I LOVE it just the same. It’s like a brownie sundae in one easy scoop. Well, two when you put the icecream in the bowl.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

