White Wine Cake

March 2, 2009 at 2:21 pm | Posted in Cake | 1 Comment
Tags: , ,
Mmm ... Wino Cake

Mmm ... Wino Cake

Okay, so what do you do with half a bottle of really cheap white wine left over from your rendition of Kat’s Fast Fancy Chicken? Well, if you like to bake, like me … you look for a recipe that lets you bake it. And I found it! And it was fan-freaking-tastic!

I got this recipe from Cooks.com. I made it almost exactly like suggested and it turned out great! As you can see from the photo, it does get a little soggy with all the sauce poured on it, but it’s delicious and I wouldn’t change a thing about it! I do have some ideas for next time around though!

INGREDIENTS:
1 box yellow cake mix (I think I used Duncan Hines “Moist Golden” or something like that)
1 (3 1/2 oz) pkg instant vanilla pudding (I used a small box of white chocolate pudding instead)
1/2 cup brown sugar (lightly packed)
1/2 cup white sugar
2 tsp cinnamon
4 eggs (yes, 4 – really)
3/4 cup oil
3/4 cup water
1/2 cup white wine

DIRECTIONS:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Mix all the dry ingredients together. Add eggs, oil, water, and white wine. Mix thoroughly. Batter will be thin and probably a little lumpy. This is okay.

Pour batter into well-greased bundt pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 45 to 50 minutes. (Mine took 50 minutes)

After cake tests done (lightly browned, tester inserted comes out clean or nearly clean) …

SAUCE:
Stir together 1/4 cup white wine and 1/2 cup powdered sugar. Bring to boil in a small saucepan. Pour hot sauce over hot cake and let stand IN PAN for 1 hour or more. Turn onto a plate and serve.

This cake was yummy! So that you’re aware, you can (lightly) taste the alcohol, so be aware of the audience you are serving this to. I think this would also be fantastic with red wine, chocolate cake, and chocolate pudding … or rum, spice cake, and vanilla pudding. There are probably a thousand variations … and I think I will probably try them all!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’d like to state that over the weekend I made this same recipe using a Zinfandel (red), chocolate cake, and banana cream pudding. It was possibly the most delicious thing I’d ever eaten. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

