Bread Pudding With Sauce

October 28, 2008 at 2:36 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

 
This recipe is something I’ve always wanted to try and never had the guts to make. The reason? Well, have you ever been in a restaurant and thought, “Geez, I don’t think this is the way it’s supposed to be?” And if the chef of a nice restaurant can’t do it very well, surely it’s too complicated/difficult/etc for me to make! Well, that’s what I’ve thought about bread pudding for a long time. The most recent example was on our 1-year anniversary trip this summer. We went to the nicest restaurant I’ve been to in a while, had a meal that blew me away, and then I ordered the bread pudding for dessert. It was tough, dry, and chewy. Clearly not right, because in my humble opinion, bread pudding should be moist and, well, pudding-like.

Well, this recipe takes the cake, so to speak. I got it from my Bridal Edition of the Betty Crocker cookbook, which is now my go-to cookbook for things I’ve never made before that I want to taste good on the first try. Rob loved this bread pudding, it was exactly what I think of when I think of bread pudding, and it made a LOT – we’re still eating leftovers 5 days later. Here goes:

INGREDIENTS

BREAD PUDDING:

4 large eggs
1 large egg yolk
¾ cup sugar
2 ½ cups milk
2 ½ cups whipping (heavy) cream
1 tablespoon vanilla
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
10 cups bread, diced into chunks (I used leftover stale sourdough and about 4 slices of plain old white bread)
½ cup raisins (optional, but yummy!)
2 tablespoons sugar
½ teaspoon ground cinnamon
2 tablespoons butter, melted

SAUCE:

½ cup butter
2 tablespoons water
1 large egg
1 cup sugar
2 tablespoons whiskey, bourbon, rum, or an extract of one (I used leftover rum from my Rum Balls)

DIRECTIONS

1. In large bowl, beat 4 whole eggs, 1 egg yolk, and ¾ cup sugar with wire whisk until well blended. Beat in milk, whipping cream, vanilla, and 1 teaspoon cinnamon until well blended. Stir in 7 cups of bread pieces and the raisins. Let stand 20 minutes.

2. Heat oven to 325. Grease bottom and sides of 13 x 9 glass baking dish with cooking spray.

3. Pour bread mixture into baking dish. Lightly press remaining 3 cups bread pieces on top of mixture in baking dish.

4. In small bowl, stir 2 tablespoons sugar and ½ teaspoon cinnamon until well blended. Brush top of bread mixture with melted 2 tablespoons butter; sprinkle with cinnamon-sugar mixture. Bake uncovered 55 to 65 minutes or until top is puffed and light golden brown (center will jiggle slightly). Cool 30 minutes.

5. Meanwhile, in 1-quart saucepan, melt ½ cup butter over low heat; do not allow to simmer. Remove from heat; cool 10 minutes. Mix water and 1 egg in small bowl, stir into butter until blended. Stir in 1 cup sugar. Cook over medium-low heat, stirring constantly, until sugar is dissolved and mixture begins to boil; remove from heat. Stir in alcohol (or extract). Cool 10 minutes before serving.

6. Serve sauce over warm bread pudding. Store remaining sauce and dessert covered in the refrigerator.
 

COST ANALYSIS

6 large eggs    $1.50
2 cups sugar    $0.75 (approximate)
2 ½ cups milk    $0.75 (approximate)
2 ½ cups heavy cream    $1.50
1 tablespoon vanilla    $0.10
1 ½ teaspoon ground cinnamon    $0.10
10 cups bread    $1.50
1/2 cup raisins     $0.75
10 tablespoons butter    $0.65
2 tablespoons rum    $0.10

TOTAL    $7.60

 
All in all, not bad for a pretty fancy dessert that you can definitely serve to company or for a holiday!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. This is so funny because a co-worker had bread pudding with her lunch today so I was thinking that it’s something I need to make. I will try your recipe now!! 🙂 You must have been reading my mind. YUM!

  2. That’s awesome! Let me know how it turns out … I can’t wait to hear!!!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

