Red Wine Crock Pot Chicken

October 15, 2008 at 12:03 am | Posted in Entree | 2 Comments
Red Wine Crock Pot Chicken

Red Wine Crock Pot Chicken

So, what do you do with a bottle of red wine that’s gone south? In this case, you make a yummy dinner! I got this recipe – or rather, the bones of it – from Healthy Recipes for Moms, which I know doesn’t technically apply to me. It was a great recipe, as you can see for yourself, but I was missing most of the ingredients. So … I made a few substitutions. Okay, I basically redid the recipe. The writer of this blog doesn’t identify herself, but thank you, and my apologies for what I’m about to do to your recipe. 🙂

INGREDIENTS

3 tablespoons flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
6 boneless skinless chicken breasts
2 generous teaspoons jarred minced garlic
1 large can of mushrooms (or you could use fresh)
2 teaspoons dried basil
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1 cup cranberry juice
1 cup dry red wine
2 tablespoons maple syrup (the real kind, please)
2 cups cooked rice (to serve underneath)

DIRECTIONS

Place garlic in the bottom of crock pot. Combine flour, salt, and pepper on a plate. Dredge the chicken through the flour, then arrange over the garlic. Add mushrooms, basil, and oregano.

In a separate bowl, mix cranberry juice, red wine, and maple syrup together. Pour over chicken. Cover, cook on high for 1 hour, then on low for 6 hours. (I am guessing you could also just cook on low for 8-10 hours).

Enjoy!!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m always looking for crockpot recipes that don’t include a can of mushroom soup – so thanks for sharing!
    I’ve just found your blog, and I’m really enjoying exploring it. : )

  2. Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after reading through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Nonetheless, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be bookmarking
    and checking back often!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

