Eat What You Have Challenge … Day 1

March 19, 2008 at 3:28 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 4 Comments
Tags: ,

So, last night was the first night of my simple, but kind of scary “Eat What You Have” challenge.  For those of you who don’t know, I work full-time as a restaurant server (and don’t get me started on that!).  This means that I have very few days off and even fewer nights off.  So I need to plan my meals to allow for LOTS of leftovers. 

 Last night I finally got the turkey breast I’ve been thawing in the fridge to thaw enough to pop it in the oven for 4 hours.  We then had some low-carb mashed potatoes (don’t ask), pan gravy, and canned green beans to top off the meal.  Was it gourmet?  Nope.  Was it tasty?  Sure.  And cheap.  As in free.  As in I already had all the ingredients to make it work.  And best of all, it left leftovers that will be around for a while!

Day 1 – Lorena 1, Grocery Store 0

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. This is one thing I am really bad at now. I used to figure out how to stretch flour and sugar into lots and lots of things. Now, with the grocery store a mile away, I have a freezer full of “nothing.” As in, nothing I want to eat, not nothing to eat.

  2. w00t w00t to yummy leftovers!

  3. w00t!

    I wish I could say I was that good but let’s just say… Clara-0 Albertsons-60

  4. Zebe – That’s where I found myself. But you know what? I gotta do it … to prove to myself that it can be done. I can’t wait until the meals start getting “wierd.”

    BB – Yeah. Hopefully leftovers for a long time.

    CB – That stinks. Maybe do-over?? 🙂


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

