Grocery Shopping Tip Of The Week …

March 18, 2008 at 5:06 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 5 Comments

And now, its time for another grocery shopping “Tip of the Week”.  This week, our tip is:

EAT WHAT YOU HAVE

How often have you found yourself staring aimlessly into the refridgerator with these words about to come out of your mouth … “We don’t have anything to eat!!”  I bet its more often than most people would admit.  However, using what you already have around the house can be a great way to not only use up older ingredients and save money by not buying new ones – it can force you to be creative with what you do have.

For example, we haven’t gone grocery shopping (for anything other than staples) in about 3 weeks.  However, a quick review of my freezer reveals the following ingredients: broccoli, ground turkey, a whole turkey breast, fish filets, steak, leftover ham (yes, from Christmas, but I can still make soup!), frozen bread dough,  lima beans, pizza crusts, and the list goes on.  And that’s just the FREEZER!  So … do I have “NOTHING” to eat?  I don’t think so.  I don’t have any “instant” foods, but I certainly won’t starve. 

 So, I have a resolution, and a challenge … I am resolving to not buy any more non-staple groceries until we have used up what is already in the freezer, pantry, and refridgerator.  I challenge you to do the same, or at least try to double your time in-between grocery trips by using up what you already have and being creative.  And then post about it – write up your creative recipes, your family’s responses, your emotional attachment to the grocery store … whatever … and send me a link – I’d love to hear from you!

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Oh my. Its like you’re in my head. I say that ALL THE TIME but I am sure if I do a quick survey my pantry could rival a small store. Oops. I accept your challenge… after I buy a few things from the grocery store this afternoon 😉
    ps. Glad you see you posting again!

  2. Thanks, its nice to be back. I’m going to be making an effort to post SOMETHING every day from here out. It might not always be pretty, but it’ll be there. 🙂

  3. Shall I claim partial credit for inspiring this post? 🙂 P.S. What’s for dinner?

  4. this might be a difficult challenge for me but i certainly need to give it my best shot

    did you see that you are famous?
    http://www.leftoverqueen.com/2008/03/14/finest-foodies-friday-top-5-green-or-sustainable-eating-blogs/

  5. I’ve done the same thing, nothing to eat, think I’ll go out. That usually happens when the Wife is travelling.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

