Mom’s Quick -n- Easy Chili

March 6, 2008 at 5:20 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments
Tags: ,

Okay, I admit it – I don’t have any photos of this dish.  Reason?  I don’t have the new computer set up with camera stuff yet.  And the old one has to go back today, so no photo uploading for me.

 This recipe is my mother’s favorite chili recipe.  I just got her to write it down – and there are really no measurements, or, for that matter, instructions.  But it is quick, easy, and relatively cheap.  Rob really liked it and its one of my favorite comfort foods.  Enjoy!

COST: $5.35
Ground Turkey – $1.99
Kidney Beans – $1.18
Tomatoes – $0.59
Tomato Sauce – $0.59
Spices – $0.50
Onion – $0.50

INGREDIENTS:
1 lb Ground Meat (I used turkey)
1/2 an onion (I left out and substituted onion powder)
2 cans Dark Red Kidney Beans, partially drained
1 can diced tomatoes (not drained)
1 can tomato sauce
1 tablespoon chili powder
salt to taste
pepper to taste
garlic powder to taste

DIRECTIONS:
In large, lightly salted skillet, brown ground beef and onions. Add tomatoes, tomato paste, and kidney beans. Stir to mix thoroughly. Add spices to taste and simmer over medium-low heat (I set my range at 2.5 on this recipe). Allow to cook until recipe reaches desired thickness – approximately 45 minutes. If you need more time, you can add water and continue simmering.

Enjoy with crackers!

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Where do you find ground turkey for $1.99? It’s about $6 per lb. here!

  2. Our local HEB has it in the prepacked meat section. It comes in 1 lb “rolls” (think like a roll of sausage). $1.99 is the cheap stuff, though. Higher fat content. The lower the fat, the more expensive – I think up to about $4.00/lb.

  3. Correction … actually, ground turkey is about $1.49 at HEB. I checked a few days ago. Even the expensive pre-packaged kind is less than $3.00 a pound.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

