Cheater, Cheater, Cheater.

April 17, 2009 at 5:02 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment
Tags: , , ,

Those of you who know me well know that I am all about doing things the old-fashioned way – from scratch. However, I will admit that I am not always in the mood for the hour-long process that is homemade spaghetti sauce.

I am also a big fan of supporting small businesses and local companies.

So how do you combine these two things to get a meal that tastes like “from-scratch” without the hassle? My favorite jarred spaghetti sauce (gasp!) …

The best alternative to "from-scratch" I've found

This is a company local to my hometown of Canton, Ohio. (Okay, they are actually located in Navarre, but close enough) They still make their sauces the old fashioned way, simmering in (relatively) small batches. As yet, I haven’t found a “big-name” brand that’s even close. In fact, their sauces are better than most of the so-called “gourmet” brands, too. The thing I like best about their sauces is that if the spices are not quite to your liking, you can add more without completely changing the character of the sauce.

So … if you get a chance to try MID’s, whether its pasta sauce or pizza sauce (also yummy), do it. You won’t be disappointed.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. mmm… spaghetti


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

