Back to Basics: A Confession.

April 9, 2009 at 8:43 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Well, up until now, there were very few things in my life I was positive I couldn’t live without. My family, some sort of food, and a viable means of transportation were pretty much it.

Or so I thought.

Allow me to make a confession – I am a microwave addict. I never realized it until just now. But I am. It’s amazing for someone like me (who loves to do things as “old school” as possible) to admit, but I’m addicted. Here’s the back story. About two weeks ago our microwave just up and quit. It would blow a breaker every time you tried to turn it on. Although it was frustrating, I thought, “Well, time to buy a new microwave … ” and move on. However, those of you who know me well know that I suffer from what I like to call “Sesame Street Syndrome” which means that, essentially, I ascribe non-living items with humanoid attributes. In this case, the microwave was a gift from my parents and I felt like I was betraying an old friend. No other microwave would do.

So I hit the Panasonic website. Ahhh – a certified repair center right here in Dayton! To make a long story short, for the past week, the microwave has been “in the shop” so to speak. I have NO microwave at all. And a stove which can only be described as crappy on its best days. So all the things I’d been taking for granted (like heating water to the exact right temperature for my bread, melting butter, and defrosting meat) are taking me by surprise.

For example, I have my bread-making routine down to a science. I know how long the water has to go in the microwave for, how long it takes to melt but not boil the butter, and so forth. Doing all these things by hand (particularly melting the butter) was not only weird, but completely threw off my “groove” so to speak.

All that being said, I am sure the microwave, my old faithful friend, will be back soon and better than ever. Or at least I hope so.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I didn’t realize you were quite so attached… hope it’s back and in tip top shape soon!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

